Look People in the Eye to Build Rapport

By Juanita Ecker

When I go through the checkout line at a major grocery store in Troy, New York, the cashier will hand me my money and say, “Have a nice day.” The gesture is meaningless. It’s simply an automatic reflex. The cashier doesn’t look me in the eye, smile, or convey any kind of warmth in the transaction. You can tell he or she is just going through the motions of what they have been told to do.

Contrast that situation with this one. There is a Walgreens Drugstore in Lexington, South Carolina that I love to frequent. There is a woman at the register who has a twinkle in her eye and a smile in her heart. Whenever I make a purchase, she hands me my receipt and makes genuine eye contact with me. With a big smile on her face, she says, “Thank you for shopping at Walgreens, come back and see us.” She makes me feel special. Because this woman takes a few moments to acknowledge me, I want to shop at Walgreens whenever I need something they carry. 

That’s the kind of attitude that draws business. Many people would rather spend time at the local greasy spoon diner with friendly, chatty servers than a four-star restaurant with haughty waiters. Our market is flooded with choice, and it’s little differences like these that can sway our vote (and business) as consumers.

Ask yourself what sort of message you and your employees are sending with clients and customers. Do you sound genuine? Do you make eye contact when you speak to them (hold for a second or two, but don’t engage in a stare-down)? Do you listen and acknowledge them when they respond to your routine “How are you?,” or are you already on to the next person? Do you come off as a friendly person who is invested in their patronage, or do you sound like you’re lifelessly reading from a script? Trust me, they can tell.

Body language, tone, eye contact and response to social cues all play a part in how we come across to clients. Customer service isn’t just about saying the right things. It’s about establishing a bond with the people who give us their business. If you think your company is lacking, consider hiring an etiquette consultant!

©2011 Professional Image Management If you would like to use this article in your newsletter or blog, you may do so. Please include our credit information: Written by Juanita Ecker, Professional Image Management. © Copyright 2011. I would also appreciate it if you would send us a copy for our files.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Look People in the Eye to Build Rapport”

  1. Gina Mintzer Says:

    I tried to “Facebook” this but there was an error in the posting and there was no title to the blog for the link. Wanted you to know.

    Congrats on the mention in the March 6, 2011 issue of Parade Magazine.

Leave a comment